Authenticating Your User for MergingFollow this step-by-step guide to authenticate your user to merge documentsSep 13, 2024Knowledge
InformationArticle BodyPrerequisites MergeUp User Privileges: Your administrator must assign your user to the MergeUp User permission set, or another permission set that grants the equivalent permissions. Overview If you encounter an error about invalid authentication, your user must be authenticated to use MergeUp. Authenticating your user with MergeUp allows us to access your org's data with your user's sharing and permission settings and upload the merged document as your user, aligning with Salesforce's security best practices. Steps If you see the invalid authentication error message as shown below, you need to authenticate your user. Click the "Authenticate" button to begin. Depending on the type of access that your user has to MergeUp, you will be taken to a different configuration screen for authentication. If your user is configured with the Merge as User permissions, you will be navigated to your user's External Credentials settings page. Click the "Allow Access" button for the MergeUp API Ex External Credential. If you user is configured with the Merge as Admin permissions, you will be navigated to the MergeUp API Ex External Credential. Click the row action for "Merge as Admin" and select "Authenticate". Log in as the user for whom you want to enable MergeUp access. Click the "Allow" button to give MergeUp servers permission to interact with Salesforce. Click the "Confirm" button to give Salesforce permission to send information to our services. The External Credential Access will show as configured when the authentication is successful. For Merge as User configuration: For Merge as Admin configuration: Return to the page containing the Merge Single Doc Component and click the "Refresh" button. You are now ready to merge! Notes If the MergeUp Setup process is not completed, you will see the message as shown below. Let you administrator know that they need to complete the MergeUp Setup: Step 2: Setup Authentication and Permission Sets If you do not have access to the MergeUp API Ex External Credential, you will see the message as shown below. Let your administrator know that they need to give your user access to the External Credential. If your users do not have the View Setup and Configuration permission, the screen with the Authenticate button will not display until after the user clicks the Merge button. Next Steps Learn how to merge documents: Using Merge Single Document LWC - RecordUsing Merge Single Document LWC - General TitleAuthenticating Your User for MergingURL NameAuthenticating-Your-User-for-Merging